MehaffyWeber lawyers bring diverse experience to the practice of law. Our attorneys achieved academic excellence, and many served in editorial positions on law reviews and journals. Historically, we have placed a high priority on recruiting the best and brightest young lawyers and have provided them with the experience, training, and working environment needed for them to develop as outstanding attorneys. From the business area to litigation and appeals, we have excellent attorneys who provide representation at a very reasonable cost. Our success derives in no small part from our responsiveness and willingness to provide effective, economical and timely representation tailored to fit the particular needs of each client.

MehaffyWeber’s attorneys are well regarded by clients and by their peers. Many are members of prestigious organizations and are recognized leaders. For instance:

  • Bob Black, former President of the State Bar of Texas, is the youngest “Legal Legend” ever selected by the State Bar Litigation Section.
  • Michele Smith, former President of the Texas Association of Defense Counsel, routinely selected as a Super Lawyer® and Best Lawyer®, was selected as a recipient of the Cris Quinn Award for Public Service.
  • Patricia Chamblin, a former President of the Jefferson County Bar Association, recipient of the John Hannah, Jr. Award for Public Service by the Bar Association of the Eastern District of Texas and the Michelle F. Mehaffy Pro Bono Award.
  • Barbara Barron was selected as one of the “Top 30 Extraordinary Women in Texas Law” by Texas Lawyer.

In addition to these specific recognitions and among other honors there are:

  • 14 attorneys selected Super Lawyers® for 2014,
  • Two Top 50 Women Super Lawyers,
  • One Top 100 Attorneys in Texas,
  • Three Top 100 Attorneys in Houston Region,
  • Four attorneys named as Rising Stars,
  • Six attorneys were recognized by H Texas Magazine as “Top Lawyers,” Houston, Texas,
  • Nine attorneys recognized as Best Lawyers in America® with Michele Smith as “Lawyer of the Year – Product Liability Litigation – Defendants” in 2015 and Sandra Clark recognized as “2016 Lawyer of the Year – Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants” and Joseph E. Broussard, IV as “2016 Lawyer of the Year – Trusts and Estates”,
  • Seven Board Certified attorneys in four areas of practice by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization,
  • Three Fellows of the American College of Trial Lawyers,
  • Nine members of ABOTA, Houston Chapter,
  • Three past presidents of the Jefferson County Bar Association,
  • Six past recipients of Jefferson County Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year, and
  • A former Justice of the Ninth Court of Appeals.

Our attorneys are recipients of other awards for legal excellence and leadership including Presidential Citation by the State Bar of Texas, Texas Center for Professionalism Awards, Andrew Hecker Award from FDCC for legal writing, DuPont Leaders Circle Awards, in addition to many others. In addition, these attorneys are recognized leaders in the community and are strong supporters of their colleges and universities. Three attorneys have been recognized as Distinguished College Alumni among other awards.

A major goal is to provide excellent ethical legal representation, by highly qualified attorneys at reasonable cost for our clients.